Kerala State Veterinary Council

The Kerala Legislative Assembly in its sitting held on 30 July 1985 passed a resolution to adopt the Indian Veterinary Council Act 1984 in the State of Kerala. According to Government of India Notification No. 23/116/84/LDT (LHS) dated 28.11.1986, the Indian Veterinary Council Act came into force in Kerala with effect from 1.12.1986.The Government of Kerala appointed a three member Registration Tribunal in 1988 to prepare the Primary Veterinary Practitioners' Register. The members of the Tribunal were Dr G Nirmalan, Dr M S Jayasooryan and Dr P Balachandran. This register was prepared in early 1989 and according to Section 82 of the Act and as per GO (P) No. 132/91/AD dated 2 April 1991, Kerala State Veterinary Council was constituted.

The election to the first State Veterinary Council was conducted only in 1996. Four members were elected from among the practitioners, namely- Dr P Balachandran, Dr A P Somasekharan Nair, Dr J Abraham and Dr P K Jacob. Three members were nominated by the Government namely- Dr K Raman Pillai, Dr V Sunil Kumar and Dr D Sebastian. Dr P P Vava and Dr A Rajan represented the Dept. of Animal Husbandry and Veterinary College respectively. Dr Rebecca Thomas was the Registrar to the Council. The first meeting of the Council held on 6th December 1996, elected Dr K Raman Pillai as the President.

The office of the Council was functioning at Tank Road, Vanchiyoor, Thiruvananthapuram and now shifted to own building at Peroorkada, Thiruvananthapuram.



Dr. K. Udayavarman,
Additional Director (AH),
Directorate of Animal Husbandry,
Vikas Bhavan,
Thiruvananthapuram – 695 033.

Ph: 0471 2302381 (O)            
Mobile: 9446366655

Dr. N. N. Sasi,
Additional Director
Ph & fax:  0471 2435246        
Mobile: 9447775475

  • Dr. R. Vijayakumar
  • Dr. Ani. S. Das
  • Dr. P.K. Jacob
  • Dr. V. A. Anil Kumar
  • Dr. Haroon Abdul Rasheed
  • Dr. Mohanachandran
  • Dr. N. Ashok
Ex officio Members:

Director of Animal Husbandry
College of Veterinary & Animal Sciences Mannuthy
Registrar- Kerala State Veterinary Council
Registration Details
New Registration

Application fee: Rs. 500/-
Registration Fee: Rs.25/-



Application fee: Rs. 250/-
Registration Fee: Rs.15/-
Fine if any @ Rs. 1/- per month
from 1st of April of the due years.

All renewals must be made in the month of April of the due year Payment as single DD in favour of The Registrar, KSVC, payable at Thiruvananthapuram

Kerala State Veterinary Council
Peroorkada (PO)
Thiruvananthapuram – 695 005

Ph & fax:. 0471 2435246